The ACPUA is an autonomous body (public law entity) attached to the 

Department of Science, Higher Education and Knowledge Society of the Government of Aragon. 

Below are the functions, composition and members that are part of the governing bodies, the advisory body and the technical bodies of the Agency.   







Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the highest body of the Agency. Its main function is dictating the general strategy of the Agency: approval of the programming and annual report on the activities, approval of the budget; approval of memoranda of understanding, establishment of new technical committees, etc.  



Maru Díaz Calvo

President of Innovation, Research and Higher Education from the Aragon Government



Ramón Guirado Guillén

Aragon General Director for Higher Education



Antonio Serrano González

Chief Executive of the ACPUA



José Antonio Mayoral Murillo

Rector of  the Universidad de Zaragoza

María Berta Sáez Gutiérrez

Rector of the Universidad San Jorge

Manuel Serrano Bonafonte

President of the Social Advisory Board of the Universidad de Zaragoza

Enrique Navarro Rodríguez

General Director in charge of Research from Aragon Government 

José Ángel Castellanos Gómez

Vice-Rector for Academic Policy of the Universidad de Zaragoza

Alejandro López del Val

Vice-Rector for Faculty and Academic Affairs of the Universidad San Jorge

Fiona Crozier

Member of the Committee of Experts

Eva Ferreira García

Member of the Committee of Experts

Juan Guerrero Marcos

President of the Student's Council from the Universidad de Zaragoza

Manuel Mas Ferrer

Student representative from the Universidad San Jorge 

Ana Gargallo Castel

Representative of CCOO trade union

Josefina Jiménez Villar

Representative of UGT trade union

Juan Carlos Dehesa Conde

Representative of CEOE Aragón, the Confederation of employers and industries

Carmelo Pérez Serrano

Representative of CEPYME Aragón, the Confederation of small and middle size companies

Chief Executive

Antonio Serrano González

Professor Antonio Serrano González has a Bachelor’s Degree and a Doctoral Degree in Law by the Universidad de Zaragoza. Law Professor at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB). Researcher at the Max Planck Institute for European Legal History in Frankfurt/ Main (Germany) and Visiting Professor at UC Berkeley (USA), Federico II in Napoli and Roma Tre (Italy), Macao (China) and the EHESS in Paris (France). Coordinator of the Ph. D in Comparative History, Theory and Anthropology of European Legal Cultures (Marie Curie Training Site) in Spain. Languages: French, English, German and Italian.

Committee of Experts

The Committee of Experts is the Agency's advisory body and consists of:


Laurent Mayali, Chair

Lloyd M. Robbins Professor, Berkeley Law, University of California



Fiona Crozier

International Expert (Ireland)



Eva Ferreira García

Professor of the Universidad del Pais Vasco



Carlos Martín Montañés

Professor of the Universidad de Zaragoza



Máximo Valenciano Arranz

President of INYCOM

Appeals Committee

Technical body of the Agency which is responsible for supervising the proper conduct of the Agency's evaluation, certification and accreditation procedures and for reporting on appeals against decisions of the Director. This committee is made up of academics in higher education institutions, international professionals and students, at least half of whom have a legal background.


Gabriel Morales Arruga, Chair 

Expert in Law 



Manuel Cachón Cadenas

Professor of Procedural Law at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona



Carmen Ocal García

Research Professor at the Institute of Materials Science of Barcelona (ICMAB-CSIC)



Cristina Rodríguez Coarasa

Professor of Constitutional Law at the Universidad Rey Juan Carlos de Madrid



Cosimo Cascione, International 

Professor of Roman Law at the University of Naples Federico II 



Patricia Cifredo Ortíz, Student

PhD student at the Faculty of Law at the Universidad de Sevilla




Commission of Evaluation, Certification and Accreditation

The Commission of Evaluation, Certification and Accreditation (CECA) is the technical body that prepares and approves the Agency's evaluation methodologies, protocols and procedures. It does not evaluate or issue evaluation reports. It is made up of academic experts, students, professionals, international experts and external stakeholders.


Antonio Serrano González, Chair

Chief Executive 



Patricia Espejo Megías

Universidad de Castilla La Mancha



María Leonor González Menorca

Universidad de La Rioja



Francisco Gracia Navarro

Universidad de Córdoba




Laura Peiró Márquez, Student 

Universidad del País Vasco



Luis A. Polo Rubio, External stakeholder 

Cruz Roja Española



Teresa Sánchez Chaparro External stakeholder

QA Expert, Madrid



Erika Soboleva, International 

Director of the AKKORK, Russia



Programmes Evaluation Committee

The Programmes Evaluation Committee (SET) is involved in the review of study programmes including programmes in the arts. This committee includes academic, professional, student and international experts, all from outside the University System of Aragon. 


Jordi Suriñach Caralt, Social & Legal Sciences (Chair)

Universidad de Barcelona



Jorge Fernández López, Arts & Humanities 

Universidad de La Rioja



Andrés Prat Marín, Health Sciences

Universidad de Barcelona



Celso Rodríguez Fernández, Sciences

Universidad de Santiago de Compostela



Elena Valderrama Vallés, Engineering & Architecture

Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona



María Josefa de la Torre Molina, Higher Education in Arts 

Universidad de Málaga



Beatriz Atienza Carbonell, Student

Universidad de Valencia



Irene Melchor Lacleta, External stakeholder 

 Reyes Católicos High School, Ejea de los Caballeros (Zaragoza)



Julio Gaitán Bohorquez, International expert

Universidad del Rosario (Bogotá)




Institutions Evaluation Committee

The Institutions Evaluation Committee (SEC) acts mainly in the processes of certification of the internal quality assurance systems of faculties and university schools and in institutional accreditation. This committee includes academic, professional, student and international experts, all from outside the University System of Aragon.


José Ángel Domínguez PérezChair

Universidad de Salamanca



Gaspar Ros Berruezo

Universidad de Murcia



Miguel Valero García

Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya – Barcelona Tech (UPC)



Gloria Zaballa Pérez

University of Deusto



María Jesús Blanco Sánchez, Student 

Universidad Pablo de Olavide (Sevilla)



Ana Rosa Gómez Arroyo, External stakeholder

QA expert, Valencia



Berta Fernández Álvarez, International 

University of Leiden (Netherlands)


Research Evaluation Committee

The Research Evaluation Committee acts in all evaluation processes related to the research activity of individuals or institutions. In this committee there must be experts from each field of knowledge and all of them must develop their main research activity outside the University System of Aragon.


Enrique Mirambell ArrizabalagaEngineering & Architecture, Chair

Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya




Elías Fernando Rodríguez FerriHealth Sciences 

Universidad de León


Fernando López Alsina, Arts & Humanities 

Universidade de Santiago de Compostela



Eloísa Carbonell Porras, Area of Social & Legal Sciences

Universidad de Jaén



 Antonia Garrido Frenich, Sciences     

 Universidad de Almería